top of page
  • Writer's pictureMinji Kim

First month, second co-op, third year


As a third year pharmacy student, I felt like I had a decent understanding of major drug classes and the complicated world of health insurance. However, as I’ve started my second co-op at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute’s outpatient pharmacy, I realize I’m still clueless and have so much more to learn. After one month of training, I began to recognize my strengths and started to cultivate skills that were taught in a controlled environment of a classroom.


At the outpatient pharmacy, I learned how to type prescriptions after they’re faxed from a provider, look up a patient’s profile to see the medication they’re picking up, fill and count prescriptions, and answer phone calls regarding insurance or a refill. Most importantly, I was able to visualize the workflow of a pharmacist’s and technician’s roles and expectations. What I really enjoy about this co-op is that I’m constantly learning something new and being challenged since every patient’s circumstances are unique. It takes a lot of problem solving and communication skills with not only the patient but with other healthcare providers such as doctors, nurses, and insurance companies.


Northeastern University emphasizes that by engaging students in hands-on experiences, they are better able to connect ideas taught in the classroom to real-world situations. An example of this was when I took the course Healthcare Systems last fall. It’s easy to memorize definitions like a copay or a deductible, but our world is dynamic and ever-changing. Students can’t simply use their limited knowledge through lectures and exams­­––especially in this complicated world of healthcare.


Working at the outpatient pharmacy helped me recognize my interest in patient interaction. While I’m not counseling patients directly, being able to help get their medications on time or assisting them with insurance has been extremely rewarding. The small phrases that may sound insignificant like “have a nice day” or “thank you for your help” motivates me to work harder day by day!


While my first and second co-op are drastically different, I’ve been able to use some skills and experiences from my institutional co-op to my community co-op. I’ve learned to remain calm and composed even when it can get overwhelming at the pharmacy. I also made sure that I focus on learning and correcting mistakes rather than chastising myself. This co-op has given me the opportunity to exercise creative problem solving and bridging the gap between theory and practice! I still have so much to learn and I hope by the end of the semester I’ll have a better grasp of my strengths and interest in pharmacy!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page