top of page
  • Writer's picturemarcie 098

Summer Classes!

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

6/6/2021 - Post #4

 

Summer classes are a pretty common occurrence at NEU - for a lot of students, it is a way to stay on track after doing co-op, or getting pre-requisites done without having to stack too many classes during the fall/spring semester. I am going to be doing one class per summer session this year, as I am still going to be on co-op summer 1 and didn't want to overexert myself! One thing at a time :)

I am doing ENGW3306 - Advanced Writing for the Healthcare Professional. I am about 2 weeks into the class, and so far I am really enjoying it. It has been a really good way of getting back into the academic mindset after a couple months of not having any homework - having to write, talk with peers, meet deadlines... it all took a second to come back to!


This class is a required one for all health sciences majors (and all majors in Bouve). It explores your position as a writer in your discipline, scholarly writing, communication, research reading, and more. It is a very interdisciplinary class as you have an interesting mix of classmates. All of us are oriented towards a career in healthcare, but that can look so different for everyone. For example, I have a classmate that is interested in NICU nursing, another that is interested in PT, and another that is interested in speech therapy. Being able to learn about other people's journeys into healthcare is highly rewarding, and definitely makes you consider more about how you got to the place you are yourself.

Overall, doing just one class was definitely the better choice for me! Especially because the next one is organic chemistry 2... I don't think my post would be so optimistic if I had to do that with co-op! But we'll cross that bridge when we get there.


Until next time,

Marcie :)

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page