top of page
  • Writer's pictureSebastien Chenin

Three Cafés You Must Check Out in Boston

Updated: Nov 15, 2021

How’s it going everyone,


I thought it would be a cool idea if I shared something that is less related to Northeastern University itself and more just something about my life in Boston.


I have always enjoyed going to cafés growing up and exploring new parts of whatever city I am in, trying new foods and drinks, as well as immersing myself within different environments. Some cafés stand out for their interior design or a particular aesthetic while others might be notably quiet and tranquil – ideal for studying. There are also cafés that are popular for being busy and somewhat hectic, which I honestly love for meeting up with a friend to catch up and have a meal or enjoy a coffee.


I decided that I would share with you all three of my current favorite coffee shops around the Boston area, each with its own reason and charm alike.


Café #1 (Hanging Out with a Friend) – Café Phinista


Café Phinista is a Vietnamese coffeeshop in the Fenway area. Phinista is the combination of Phin (a Vietnamese style of brewed coffee) and, well, your barista. The location is perfect as it is only a fifteen minute walk from Northeastern. I love coming here when it is nice outside, and I can get a walk in on my way to meet up with someone for coffee and a bite to eat. The interior of the café boasts a white subway-tiled aesthetic with floral accents throughout. This café also has an outdoor seating area, ideal for enjoying the weather as Spring rolls around in the months of March and April. In terms of food, there is a wide variety of options from regular pastries to both sweet and savory crêpes or traditional Vietnamese banh mis. There is also a variety of options when it comes to drinks as they have various coffees, milk teas, and Vietnamese specialties to choose from. Everything at this café is also reasonably priced so you will never feel like you are spending too much money while on a college student budget. The music, lighting, and overall ambience lends itself nicely to being an ideal spot to sit down, relax, and spend some time with a friend on the weekend.


Café #2 (Studying) – Jaho Coffee Roaster and Wine Bar


Although this café is not a locally owned one like the first one, there is one particular location that I have come to love – being the Downtown/Chinatown location on Washington Street. This location is further than the previous one and requires taking the subway unless you would rather walk roughly 30 minutes. I enjoy taking the time on a Friday afternoon or Saturday morning to head downtown to this particular location. Although there are other closer branches of this chain, I appreciate the wooden, almost rustic, atmosphere that this coffeeshop has to offer in particular. In addition to this, I love walking around the Boston Common or the Boston Public Garden either before or after getting some quality work done at Jaho. Although constantly busy due to its downtown location, I honestly appreciate the background hum of people coming in and out during their breaks as I work away. There is ample space in this café which compliments the large windows with views of the park nearby. I highly recommend checking out this coffeeshop because taking the time to go to it, getting some quality work done, and enjoying a nice walk around downtown after it all makes the whole experience enjoyable and rewarding.


Café #3 (Quick Pitstop) – Caffè Bene


I think this coffeeshop in particular is incredibly slept on and, often times, overlooked by most people. The exterior does not come off as the most attractive coffeeshop out there, but I remember walking in for the first time and being pleasantly surprised by how nice the interior was. Caffè Bene is a coffeehouse chain based in Seoul, South Korea, and has managed to make its way to Boston. It boasts a relaxed European vibe with a menu of various sweet treats and sandwiches as well as grilled cheeses, honey bread, parfaits, and waffles. In terms of its drink options, they have everything from espresso and classic coffee drinks to bubble teas and smoothies. This coffeeshop has large wooden tables for work as well as little nooks to just sit down, take a break from your busy day, and enjoy a coffee or bite to eat. There is so much natural lighting and the atmosphere of the coffeeshop itself is very warm and inviting. The location is also great since it is only a five minute walk from Northeastern and can be used as a quick pitstop between classes, while running errands, or just walking around the city.


Well, those are three of my current favorite coffeeshops in the area that I highly recommend everyone check out for themselves. I hope you all enjoyed reading this sort of post and consider visiting these locations in your free time. If you have any questions about this post or my life in Boston and at Northeastern University in general, feel free to reach out to me at the following email: chenin.s@northeastern.edu :)




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page