top of page
  • Writer's pictureMinji Kim

Things they don’t teach you in high school that you learn in college



I look back at my time in high school and I laugh. Laugh because I learned so much but so little at the same time. I learned about the Manifest Destiny, approximating integrals using Riemann Sums, and calculating equilibrium concentrations, but none of that prepared me for this gigantic educational institution, that is university.


Here are some tips that I wish I knew before coming to Northeastern!


Grades don’t define your self worth: For many high school students, a solid GPA is their symbol of success. Flipping to the very last page of your essay to see the grade rather than reading the comments or complaining about your test score rather than thinking about how you can improve on the next exam. Sound familiar? I’m guilty of it too. However, from talking to peers and mentors, I learned early on that grades don’t define your intelligence, your ability to work well with others, or your leadership skills––all important criteria of a successful job applicant. What I love about Bouvé is their emphasis on experiential learning which spans beyond your GPA. While grades may reflect your knowledge of the tested material, there are many other ways to convey intelligence than a two digit number.


Opportunities aren’t handed to you. Be proactive and reach out to professors and other students: Something that I regret when I was a college freshman last year was not taking initiative. Northeastern offers so many great opportunities for research such as RISE (Research, Innovation, Scholarship, Entrepreneurship Expo) or Dialogues of Civilization, where students take a variety of electives abroad over the summer. Even with all these resources available, I refused to leave the comfort of my room to explore what the university had to offer. It’s important to recognize that professors and students will appreciate your interest in their research if you simply reach out.


It’s okay to eat alone: Unlike in high school where we all had lunch at the same time, college differs in the sense that your friends will have different schedules that will hinder you from finding a lunch buddy. And that’s totally okay! I remember a good portion of my stress last year came from trying to find a friend who would grab a sandwich at Rebecca’s Cafe, a campus eatery, or breakfast at Stetson East, one of the three dining halls, with me. But I was fine eating alone in my dorm. Why was I so afraid of eating alone in public? In reality, we’re afraid of eating alone because of what we assume others are thinking. I learned to appreciate the time alone and be more independent. Remember, being alone doesn’t mean you’re lonely. As much as it’s important to engage is social activities, college is all about you!






23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page