top of page
  • Writer's picturemarcie 098

My First Month on Co-op

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

2/12/2021 - Post #2

 

I started my first co-op as a Surgical Assistant at South Shore Oral Surgery Associates (in Quincy, MA) on January 4th, 2021. A couple days into the new year, I was excited, but also really nervous. I was having all the typical thoughts one might have before a new experience - what if I do something embarrassing? What if I forget how to do something important? What if I find it hard to adjust from school life to co-op life?

For some context, I am a pre-health student and I always thought I was interested in working in a clinical setting, which is why this co-op was a great fit for me. I am currently considering both the pre-med and pre-PA paths, and was aiming to find a placement that let me work in a setting that would guide me to the right choice. South Shore Oral Surgery is a private practice consisting of a team of 4 Doctors (DMD and DDS), supervisors, anesthesia assistants, surgical assistants (like me!) and the administrative team. Being able to work with a tight knit team has been a large part of the reason why it felt easy for me to ask for help and further my learning.

After my first (slightly chaotic albeit great) day, I was already having the feeling of "I want to work in healthcare" affirmed to me. Even through my training period, I was able to interact with patients, assist with procedures, and more - and I loved it all. I had a LOT to learn, but I was very excited to do so.



As the month progressed, I am able to do consults with patients, take radiographs, use the electronic prescription service, talk about treatment and healing, and assist in procedures such as through drawing up/passing medications, passing tools, and more. I have been gaining direct patient care experience which will be an asset to me growing as a person, as well as my professional skills and future career.

Wow! Typing that out makes me realize how much I have learnt in the past month, thanks to my wonderful supervisor and coworkers.

I have been adjusting well to working - honestly, it has been kind of nice to come home to no homework! My biggest advice would be to stay involved on campus. I do Bouve Ambassadors, Big Sister Northeastern, and AMWA (the American Medical Women's Association). I hang out with friends not on co-op and make sure to try to stay integrated in the NEU community.

To sum it up, so far so good! Keep your fingers crossed that the next 5 months will be as successful as this one.


Until next time,

Marcie :)


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page