top of page
  • oneilleri

Study Plans at Northeastern

Happy 2023! Long time, no write. Unfortunately, I got super busy at the end of the semester last fall and haven't gotten around to writing a blog post since October, so I plan to compensate for the lost time!


Today's blog post topic: alternative study plans.


Northeastern is an experiential university that encourages students to create a study plan that maximizes their time. You have the power to make your study plan what you want, and academic advisors and other university faculty help you actualize it.


I came to Northeastern determined to finish in 4 years. I set my sights on the 4 years, 2 co-ops plan as a health science major on the pre-med track. Over the past three years, I've picked up two minors in global health and data science on top of my major and track. Ultimately, I decided to switch my plan to 5 years to avoid burnout and for more time to reflect and gain career clarity.


I went on co-op last spring (check out my blog post about co-op), and if I had stuck to my original study plan, I would be on co-op again this spring, but I'm not! Am I missing co-op? Yes. Am I enjoying my classes? Also yes! Many of my friends, including my roommates, are on co-op again this spring, and it feels like we're living completely different lives. I miss how much freedom I had while on co-op, but simultaneously, I don't miss the cyclical nature of working full-time.


I decided to pursue a 5-year, 2 co-op during the fall of my 2nd year. Switching my plan was the right decision for me, and when I'm feeling FOMO, I have to remind myself that everyone's undergraduate experience looks different. I'm a huge proponent of exploring all your interests and not feeling "locked in" by a major/career you picked at a different time. I found a love for data science about a year and a half into college! I never imagined I would enjoy the intersection of coding and healthcare, but here we are.


The two-year gap between my co-ops has allowed for time to think about how I want to spend the remainder of my undergraduate career at Northeastern. I want to pursue a health data science co-op next cycle, and the two-year gap has allowed me to hone my coding skills and explore the field further. Last summer, I started an internship at Massachusetts General Hospital as a database developer and management intern for a neurosurgery research project. I sought the opportunity out of the need to confirm my interest in data science. I thought, "Well, Northeastern facilitates these amazing opportunities through NUworks, so why not take advantage of it?" I received a lot of clarity through the internship and found amazing support from my research team. Now, I'm working on finalizing the database and have the opportunity to work with a statistician to visualize the data and perform statistical analysis!


All in all, your study plan should not look like your peers. Figure out what you want to do and make it happen! How many co-ops do you want to do? Do you not want to take summer classes? Do you want to do a global experience? Really sit down and think about it, ignoring all the external influences telling you what to do. The goal is to feel fulfilled in what you are studying, and your study plan complements that goal.

MGH internship

Until next time,

Erin



49 views1 comment

1 comentario


pan.je
24 ene 2023

Super insightful! I wish you best of luck in the future! You're going to do great things!

Me gusta
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page