top of page
  • Writer's picturemarcie 098

Welcome to my Blog - Meet Me!

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

1/17/2021 - Post #1

 

Hi all! My name is Marcie, and I am a 2nd-year student at Northeastern studying Health Sciences in the Bouve College of Health Sciences. If you'd like to find out more about my journey as an international, pre-health, and campus involved student, keep reading (I promise it's interesting).

I am originally from Poland but grew up in the Greater Toronto Area of Canada about 8 hours' drive from Boston. I moved to Boston in the fall of 2019 and I started my journey at Northeastern living in East Village as an Honors student. It was amazing - I lived on the 11th floor with three lovely roommates (who are still my friends). We explored the city and had a ton of fun with our "Animal Lovers" living-learning community group, with a lot of time being spent sampling all of the amazing local restaurants. I used my 1st-year to get used to the university schedule and my classes, a volunteer with Big Sister Boston and Mass General Hospital, and get involved in research (will touch on this later!). Although my 1st-year was cut short due to the pandemic, I am so grateful for the experiences I had.

I used my 1st summer to do summer classes and get used to remote learning, and I loved all the classes I took which were focused on Public Health (how fitting, right?). I was lucky enough to be able to come back to campus in the fall, where I started my co-op journey along with continuing to volunteer with Big Sister Boston, being a member of AMWA, and participating in research through the Biological Computational Lab on campus - an opportunity I came into because of a professor I had in my 1st semester. I am also an ambassador for the Bouve College of Health Sciences, which means interacting with prospective and accepted students, attending webinars, Q&A's, and more!









Through some ups and downs, and with the support of my amazing advisor, I was able to secure a position as a surgical assistant which I am very excited to begin in spring 2021. I pursued a clinical position because as a pre-health student (considering pre-med and pre-PA), I want to be exposed to different types of working and learning environments and garner invaluable experiences that will help me make the best decision for my future time at Northeastern and my career.

I am excited about my next steps on my NEU journey, and I hope you enjoyed reading about it. I know choosing a university and navigating life in a transitional stage can be difficult - but you got this! I hope my post allows you to see what a student's life at Northeastern may look like, and I would love to write more about it as I progress through my time.


Until next time,

Marcie :)




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page