top of page
  • oneilleri

Finals Season Tips

Updated: Oct 28, 2022

October means midterm season, and with October behind us, there's a new threat to my GPA: finals.


My high school used a trimester system, which actually seemed to go by slower than semesters; I feel like the semester is almost over! This fall, I took organic chemistry, an advanced writing course, and three public health courses. In the past, finals season was a little more daunting because I took more natural science courses. This year, however, is different because most of my finals are in the form of papers and presentations (except for organic chemistry).


Now that I'm an "upperclassman," I've experienced my fair share of finals season. Here are my tips for surviving finals as an undergraduate:

 

1. DO NOT wait to study


Pretty straightforward tip. I know many of my peers (including myself) procrastinate studying. Something that has changed my life is cumulative studying. Most final exams test you on all the information you learned during the semester, and it can feel overwhelming when you're trying to reteach yourself information from September. By mixing in the curriculum you've learned throughout the semester into your studying, you better prepare yourself for finals.

me in Snell when I'm cramming

 

2. BALANCE is key


I've done it all: not showering, neglecting to eat, forgoing working out, and sacrificing sleep. I can not begin to explain how harmful this is. You can not perform well in school without first taking care of yourself. As a result, I've learned to schedule activities during my week that benefit my well-being. For example, watching a movie, going pilates, reading before bed, etc. All these things help prevent burnout and remind me that life is not just school.

 

3. USE techniques that work


Everyone responds to study techniques differently. Are you a Pomodoro person? Active-recall? Notes writer? Quizlet? Find what works for you! I've learned that different methods work for different classes. I can't write notes for organic chemistry because the information is too dense. Instead, I utilize Pomodoro and practice problems to help me learn concepts! On the other hand, I liked to write notes for classes like biostatistics, where I found that writing down teacher examples and adding notes benefited my learning. Don't be scared to try different techniques to find what works best for you!

Pro tip: try using the whiteboards at Snell

 

That's all from me! Best of luck studying.


Until next time,

Erin





20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page