top of page
  • Kaitlyn Doughty

How to Maximize the Fall Season in New England


Hi Everyone!


I wanted to spend this month's blog highlighting the beauty of Fall in New England and the best ways to celebrate the Fall Season as a Northeastern student. As a native New Englander all my life I have seen my fair share of foliage changes, haunted houses, and apple picking to name a few. Whether you are a current Northeastern student, a Prospective student, or a hopeful one day applicant I hope that this can one day help you maximize your fall experience while in New England.


Best Places to Watch the Leaves Change:


Massachusetts-

There are many spots on our very own campus, some of the most popular being the koi pond, centennial quad, the law quad, and the tree pictured above which is probably the most photographed tree on our entire campus this time of year which you can find by Ruggles and Egan Research Center. As someone currently living in West Village H I also want to point out the gorgeous view that West H has to offer. If you have a friend currently living their or you end up living in West H one day I definitely recommend popping up to the 16th floor common space in October to take advantage of the changing leaves.


There are also plenty of beautiful spots within walking distance or a short T ride away from campus where you can see the breathtaking changing of the leaves unfold. Some of the most popular places to go are the Boston Public Garden, Arnold Arboretum near Harvard, Charles River Esplanade, and the North End where you can enjoy the beautiful scenery while even treating yourself to a cannoli or two.


New Hampshire-

Lake Winnipesaukee is a great spot in NH to check out the foliage as well as explore the small town and all it has to offer while getting to experience the beauty of the lake as well. If you have the chance to drive along essentially any road in NH you will see beautiful foliage alongside your route and maybe even find some great hiking trails along the way.


Maine-

As a native Mainer I am obligated to point out my two favorite spots for enjoying the fall weather and changing leaves in my home state. Acadia National Park is beautiful any time of the year, but especially during Fall. There are plenty of hiking trails, bike trails, and lovely beaches to appreciate any time of year. Height of the Land in Roxbury Maine is a popular destination for both Mainers and tourists as this is one of the first spots in the state to begin changing colors.



Best Places to Pick Apples

Throughout my three years at Northeastern I have definitely utilized the fall season to go out and pick apples with my friends. Here are some of our favorite places that we've checked out in the last few years. Carver Hill Apple Farm and Honeypot Hill Orchards both in Stow MA are some of the most popular locations for students to go apple picking, They offer apple picking, hay rides, corn mazes, and even animals. Something to keep in mind if you ever do end up going is that a lot of Apple Orchards are cash only, so be sure to have some cash on you so you can treat yourself to some of their amazing cider.



Best Haunted Houses

Similarly to my Apple Picking ventures, my friends and I have made it a tradition to go to haunted houses each year as well. The two best ones so far have been Fright Kingdom and Haunted Overload. Both of which are located in New Hampshire and offer a wide variety of spookiness for those of you who are into that. I personally am a big scaredy cat so I have to be dragged to haunted houses each year by my friends and typically close my eyes through most of it. However, all of my friends only ever have positive things to say about these two places and claim that they keep their eyes open at least most of the time :)



No matter how you choose to enjoy the Fall season you truly cannot go wrong... I hope that you found these tips on the best places for foliage, apple picking, and haunted houses helpful.


Until Next Time...

Kaitlyn

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page