top of page
  • Kaitlyn Doughty

Summer in Boston


Hi everyone!


I wanted to spend my blog post this month highlighting the many wonderful things you can do during the summertime in Boston.


As you may or may not be aware, many students at Northeastern participate in Summer Classes during part of the year to fulfill their major requirements within the traditional four year timeline. As this is such a typical part of Northeastern life I want to show that while this can be an untraditional aspect compared to other universities it can actually be one of the most incredible times of year here at Northeastern!


This past summer has been the first full summer that I have spent in Boston and I have genuinely enjoyed every second. This summer I've had the chance to experience a lot of free and discounted events through the university. To name a few; the school put on free ice cream(Ben & Jerry's) every Wednesday from May-July, they had free trips to Provincetown, discounted tickets to Six Flags, the Aquarium, Museum of Science, Red Sox Games and my personal favorite was discounted tickets to Boston Calling Music Festival.

For activities outside of Northeastern I have been able to go to the Museum of Fine Arts which Northeastern students get free admission to every day of the year. I also have gone to the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum which is my personal favorite museum in the area. I have also had the chance to have amazing meals outside in the North End and on Newbury St, as well as picnics on the Charles River which is a beautiful park close by not too far from our campus.


With a few more weeks left of summer, I have plans to go up to Maine and New Hampshire and do some hiking with some of my friends. I love that I am able to travel to neighboring New England States with such ease and can't wait to make some great new memories!


Thats all for now! Until next time...


Kaitlyn Doughty

doughty.ka@northeastern.edu



16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page