top of page
  • Writer's pictureSebastien Chenin

Traveling While at Northeastern: NY, NH, and QC

How’s it going everyone,


I wanted to come on here and share something that I feel a lot of people might want to know more about and that has to do with travelling as a college student.


To begin with, Northeastern University’s location makes it honestly ideal to travel while still being a full-time student. It is so convenient to take little weekend trips hiking in New Hampshire or skiing in Vermont or exploring in New York. Professors are also very kind when it comes to asking for extra assistance to stay on top of everything. I have had many instances where I wanted to go out of town for a weekend but did not want to feel stressed about missing out on anything while away from campus. It simply took reaching out to a professor and asking what can be done to make sure I am all up to date, sometimes asking for a future lecture or past recording to review while I am away. Having these sorts of open conversations with all my professors has not only allowed me to manage my work more effectively but it’s also helped me succeed as a student altogether, building valuable relationships along the way.


That being said, I would love to share some travel experiences I’ve been fortunate enough to have over the past semester to either inspire some future plans or just share a bit about my life.


The first and most popular go to option for a nice getaway is definitely New York. It is literally a bus or train ride away and transportation is so convenient both in and out of the city. It has something for everyone from those looking to go out and enjoy jazz clubs and nightlife to those looking to walk around, popping into little coffeeshops and stores along the way. From trying new outdoor activities to some of the best food you’ll ever find, New York really is a travelling staple for anyone looking to take a mini vacation within a reasonable budget and have an amazing time.


Another great option, which I recommend to everyone, is doing something in New Hampshire. If you’re not feeling like leaving Boston to go to an even bigger city like New York but would rather go somewhere less crowded and enjoy a more relaxing and peaceful trip, then New Hampshire is a perfect little trip.


With it being literally an hour drive away, it is so convenient to take even day trips with a group of friends to go hiking or apple picking or check out a new town and try their local diner. Whether it’s taking the bus ride or piling into a friend’s car, a trip to New Hampshire is such an affordable and convenient way to take a little retreat and get away, relax, and reset.


Lastly, if you’re looking for something more demanding and are looking to go a little further than a nearby state, there is my favorite option so far: Canada.


Over thanksgiving break, I could not afford nor justify an $800+ trip to Houston for three days to go home. A few of my friends here also found themselves in a similar situation so we thought it would be a great idea to plan a little budget trip of our own. We rented a Zipcar between four people and got the cheapest Airbnb we could find in the heart of Montréal, Québec and we were off. The trip was honestly such a beautiful experience for me since I was able to speak French the entire time, which is something I miss from home. The quaint European streets lined with unique boutiques, local delis, and family-owned cafés gave to such a peaceful yet exciting environment. The food there was actually very affordable yet such high quality at the same time. The nightlife is most definitely a highlight of the city from intimate speakeasys and underground bars to some of the coolest clubs I’ve ever been to specializing in interactive art and house music.


There are so many options when it comes to travelling while in college. It is definitely a challenging thing to do and requires a great deal of effort and organization. More than anything, I just wanted to come on here and get the point across that it is absolutely possible to go on exciting trips while a student. They may not be for extended periods of time or to luxurious destinations with lavish budgets, but they are still fantastic and long-lasting memories, nonetheless.



17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page