top of page
  • Writer's picturemarcie 098

Why I Chose Northeastern

2/28/2022 - Post #7

 

Hi! :) Happy New Year!

I noticed Northeastern was posting their ED and EA decision announcements on instagram and it made me feel nostalgic remembering when I got my acceptance! I applied EA 1 (around December/Janurary) and made my decison by the end of May 2019. It seems like such a long time ago that it seemed like the biggest, scariest I had ever made (which in fairness, it was) but I can confidently say I am so happy with my choice. In this post, I want to share some of my reasons for becoming a husky.





Location

Being from Toronto and going to school in the Greater Toronto Area, a lot of the best universities were within a couple hours of my house. Unsurprisingly, a lot of kids from my high school went to these great schools. Although there is nothing wrong with that, I wanted to branch out a little more than that. Towards the end of my decision making process, I was between NEU and the University of British Columbia. I ended up choosing NEU in this category because it's about an 8 hour drive from my house (and there are daily flights that are 1.5 hrs gate to gate). I'm far enough that I feel independent, but close enough to my support network too. I also LOVE Boston as a city - it's the perfect size for me, I love NEU's central location, and I enjoyed being in a city known for it's medical community.


Campus Vibe

I loved that I could walk from one end of campus to the other super reasonably. Campus is it's own little sector of Boston, and I enjoyed the closed off feeling in the city - it really is the best of both worlds. I also loved the feeling I got on campus, which was friendly and open. It's always busy with people going places and doing things, and it feels vibrant but not overwhelming.


Co-op!

Northeastern's crowing jewel is co-op, and it was the icing on top of the cake for me. I knew I was interested in clinical medicine, but really had no idea what kind. I really enjoyed the idea of taking time off from classes and making some money, gaining experience, and making connections. My co-op experience ended up completely changing my trajectory, from pre-med/pre-pa (and confused) to pre-dental (and excited). Without my co-op, I would have never even though about dentistry. I am so immensely grateful I was able to have this opprotunity and I am so happy for what it did for me.

I have met some amazing people at NEU, become president of a club I'm passionate about, help research, and volunteer. I love the city of Boston and now have a food account (time to plug @marciesplate on instagram) dedicated to my adventures around the city. Overall, the right choice is the choice you make for you, and I can confidently say I did that.


Until Next Time,

Marcie :)


35 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page